Skip to main content

UNSW Alumni Awards

UNSW Alumni Awards

Each year, UNSW recognises and acknowledges alumni achievers for their professional and personal dedication to making a profound impact here and around the globe.

From frontline advocates dedicated to empowering disadvantaged communities, to fintech startups changing national financial landscapes; our graduates are nothing short of exceptional.

We invite you to nominate outstanding alumni, either established in their career or just getting started, so we can celebrate their achievements together.


Nominations close 19 February 2021


Award Categories for 2021

For the 2021 Awards, we have six categories to choose from:

Young Alumni Award

Recognising outstanding achievements of our alumni aged 35 or younger who have achieved significant success or impact in a short career span.

Art and Culture

Recognising the achievements of alumni who have made positive contributions to society and the arts through design, creative and cultural disciplines.

Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Recognising visionary alumni who are forward-thinking leaders in their industry, profession, or area of expertise.

Social Impact and Service

Recognising alumni who are making a tangible difference to people’s lives, the environment, or the world through their organisation, volunteering or other service to the community.

Professional Achievement 

Recognising outstanding achievements and impacts of alumni in their chosen field or profession, spanning industry, government, sport, and more.

Research & Teaching Achievement 

Recognising outstanding achievements and impacts of alumni in their chosen field or profession, including by not limited to  industry, government and sport.

Nomination Process

Alumni Awards Committee

A committee, comprising of representatives from the UNSW alumni community, will review all nominations and make decisions.

Who is Eligible?

Any UNSW graduate is eligible to be nominated. Posthumous nominations are accepted. A UNSW graduate may not nominate themselves. Current UNSW staff (even if alumni) are not eligible for nomination. Young Alumni nominees must be aged 35 years or younger on 19 Feburary 2021.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations for Alumni Awards may be submitted by alumni, staff, students and members of the wider community. The nominations should be submitted by a nominator with the option of being supported by a seconder. The nominator and seconder are invited to provide supporting evidence. Please include facts and figures where possible. Please submit nominations using the online nomination form here. Please submit nominations by 5pm on the closing date 19 February 2021.

Determination of Awards

Alumni Awards are presented annually by UNSW Sydney and are not limited or extended to one per category but are awarded based on merit. The number of awards may vary from year to year and the Alumni Awards Committee reserves the right to make no award in a particular year. The decision of the Alumni Awards Committee will be final and conclusive, no correspondence regarding decisions will be entered into.

Awards Presentation

The awards presentation will be put on hold due to COVID-19.

UNSW Disclaimer

All information provided in the nomination forms will be verified by the University prior to the presentation of candidates to the Alumni Awards Committee.

Alumni Awards FAQs

Can I nominate someone for more than one Alumni Award category?
Yes, nominations will be accepted for the same graduate across different categories in the same year.
Can I nominate someone who has previously been nominated?
Yes, you may nominate someone who has been previously nominated. Previous winners however are not eligible.

Can I nominate a UNSW staff member?
No, unfortunately UNSW staff can not be nominated and are not eligible.
What should the Statement of Support include?
The Statement of Support should clearly state why the nominee should be considered for the selected Alumni Award category. You may wish to include examples of their work.

When will winners be announced to the public?
Winners will be announced in June 2021.